Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Local News

LC State to award 967 degrees and certificates at Friday’s commencement ceremonies

LEWISTON, Idaho – Lewis-Clark State College is expected to hand out its fourth-highest total of degrees and certificates when its celebrates commencement with three ceremonies at the P1FCU Activity Center on Friday, May 12.


According to current projections, the college will award 967 degrees and certificates to 763 graduating students, of which around 450 are expected to walk.

The day will mark the third straight year LC State has had three ceremonies on the same day. Each ceremony will consist of one of LC State’s three schools:

  • 9 a.m. – Liberal Arts & Sciences (Physical Life, Movement & Sport Sciences, Humanities, and Social Sciences Divisions)
  • Noon – Professional Studies (Business & Computer Science, Nursing & Health Sciences, and Teacher Education & Mathematics Divisions)
  • 3 p.m. – Career & Technical Education (Technical & Industrial and Business Technology & Service Divisions)

The degree and certificate total is over 100 more than the final count from last year and back on par for pre-pandemic numbers. LC State’s all-time record for degrees and certificates awarded during a year is 1,021 set in 2018, which includes graduates from the fall, spring and summer.

Friday’s commencement ceremonies are open to the general public and will also be streamed live at

The ceremonies will honor a number of individuals including retiring emeritus faculty members Nancy Lee-Painter, Rob McDonald, Ed Miller, Gwen Sullivan, and Melinda Tompkins. Former Idaho State Sen. Carl Crabtree will be honored with the President’s Medallion Award for significantly impacting the college by demonstrating high personal and professional standards, commitment to lifelong learning and the positive difference education makes to individuals, families and communities.

Among the student awards, Brayden Graves will receive the Gertrude Mellen Dick Award, given to the student with the highest cumulative GPA for four years of undergraduate work; Hannah Winter will receive the President’s Award for outstanding contributions to the college; and Todd Holcomb will be the recipient of the Provost’s Award, given to a high achieving LC State Coeur d’Alene graduate.


Idaho State News

idfg-cliess Monday, December 18, 2023 – 11:30 AM MST Turn your backyard into a bird B&B with these helpful wintertime bird-feeding tips We all...