Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Local News

Warrior Student-Athletes Honored at 2021-22 LCSPYs

LEWISTON – The Lewis-Clark State Student-Athlete Advisory Council hosted the fourth annual LCSPYs award show on Wednesday night and handed out 10 awards in LC State’s Silverthorne Theater. 

The awards included Freshman of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Heart of a Warrior, Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, Comeback Athlete of the Year, Male Athlete of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Team of the Year and Warrior of the Year. SAAC representatives from each team nominated and voted on behalf of their teams for nine of the 10 awards.

Coaches nominated and voted for Warrior of the Year, which recognizes the student-athlete that best represents the “Warrior Way” on the field of play, in the classroom, and in the community. Men’s Golf led with four awards on the night, taking home Freshman, Newcomer, Coach, and Team honors.

Callie Stevens of women’s basketball and Clayton VanDyke of men’s track and field each won two awards, including Female and Male Athletes of the Year. The night’s biggest honor went to VanDyke who was voted the Warrior of the Year by the coaches after being named a CoSIDA Academic All-American and the Cascade Conference Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year last season. He also won the NAIA Indoor 800m national title earlier this school year. 

The full lists of winners can be found below. 

2021-22 LCSPY Winners:

Freshman of the Year: Kristof Panke – Men’s Golf

Newcomer of the Year: Jorgen Viken – Men’s Golf

Heart of a Warrior: Heidi Sellmann – Women’s Basketball

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Joe Ball – Baseball

Comeback Athlete of the Year: Callie Stevens – Women’s Basketball

Male Athlete of the Year: Clayton VanDyke – Men’s XC/TF

Female Athlete of the Year: Callie Stevens – Women’s Basketball

Coach of the Year: Brady Campbell – Men’s Golf

Team of the Year: Men’s Golf

Warrior of the Year: Clayton VanDyke – Men’s XC/TF