Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Local News

LC State ASA Hosts 2023-24 LCSPYs

Alisha Alexander | LC State Assistant Athletic Director-Sports Information

LEWISTON – The Lewis-Clark State Association of Student-Athletes (ASA) hosted the sixth annual LCSPYs award show on Thursday night and handed out 15 awards in the P1FCU Activity Center.
The awards included Male and Female Freshmen of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Male and Female Heart of a Warrior, Breakthrough Athletes of the Year, Comeback Athlete of the Year, Male Athlete of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year, Coach of the Year, Team of the Year and Warrior of the Year.
ASA representatives from each team nominated and voted on behalf of their teams for 12 of the 13 award categories. Coaches nominated and voted for Warrior of the Year, which recognizes the student-athlete that best represents the “Warrior Way” on the field of play, in the classroom and in the community.
Baseball led with four awards on the night, taking home Male Heart of a Warrior, Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year, Comeback Athlete of the Year and Coach of the Year.
The night’s biggest honor went to women’s tennis senior Bonolo Molefe who was voted the Warrior of the Year by the coaching staff. Molefe was voted the 2023 ITA NAIA Arthur Ash Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winner and has earned national recognition from the American Red Cross.
The full list of winners can be found below.
2023-24 LCSPY Winners:
Male Freshman of the Year: Alton Hamilton – Men’s Basketball
Female Freshman of the Year: Gianna Anderson – Volleyball & Darian Herring – Women’s Basketball
Newcomer of the Year: Jaedon Bradley – Men’s Basketball
Male Heart of a Warrior: Cameron Smith – Baseball
Female Heart of a Warrior: Maddie Holm – Women’s Basketball
Male Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Drake George – Baseball & Kobe Wessels – Men’s XC/TF
Female Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Juliauna Forgach Aguilar – Volleyball
Comeback Athlete of the Year: Charlie Updegrave – Baseball
Male Athlete of the Year: Carter Gordon – Men’s XC/TF
Female Athlete of the Year: Callie Stevens – Women’s Basketball
Team of the Year: 2023-24 Women’s Track and Field
Coach of the Year: Jake Taylor – Baseball
Warrior of the Year: Bonolo Molefe – Women’s Tennis
Stay up to date with all things Warrior Athletics at and on social media @LCWarriors.

Idaho State News

idfg-cliess Monday, December 18, 2023 – 11:30 AM MST Turn your backyard into a bird B&B with these helpful wintertime bird-feeding tips We all...